top of page

July is Parks and Recreation Month​

Today, Rep. Pete Aguilar voted to pass the bipartisan Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization bill, which includes provisions he secured to help minority- and women-owned businesses compete for funding for aviation projects. 

“Small businesses are not just the heart and soul of our communities, but they’re the driving forces behind our continued economic success,” said Rep. Pete Aguilar. “That’s why I’m glad to see the House take critical steps to make sure that minority and women-owned businesses have the tools and resources they need to thrive. The provision I secured will create a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Supportive Services program at the Federal Aviation Administration. I’m proud to see this pass with bipartisan support and look forward to it crossing over the finish line in the Senate.”

Provisions contained within Rep. Aguilar’s Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Supportive Services Expansion Act were included in the bipartisan Securing Growth and Robust Leadership in American Aviation Act. The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Supportive Services Program provides training, assistance and services to minority- and women-owned businesses to help them develop into self-sufficient organizations that viably compete for federally assisted contracts. Rep. Aguilar’s legislation would increase the annual funding cap for this program under the Federal Highway Administration from $10 million to $25 million and expand this program to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA).

In addition, the bipartisan Securing Growth and Robust Leadership in American Aviation Act would maintain American leadership in aviation safety and aerospace innovation, strengthen and diversify the U.S. aviation workforce, make groundbreaking investments in sustainability and resiliency and improve consumer protections and accessibility. 

For a section-by-section breakdown of the bill, click here

Rep. Aguilar serves as Chair of the House Democratic Caucus and is a member of the House Committee on Appropriations.


bottom of page